DfID's comms chief Paul Mylrea elected 2011 CIPR President

Paul Mylrea, director of communications for the Department for International Development, has been elected 2011 president of the CIPR.

CIPR president elect 2011: Paul Mylrea

Sally Sykes has also been re-elected to her position as treasurer for 2010. She is currently communications director for the Health & Safety Executive.

It was a contested election for both positions, with Mylrea taking 304 votes and NHS Lothian director of comms Jenifer Stirton receiving 200.  Sykes obtained 268 votes, while DA PR managing director Lisa Shaddick received 206.  

Mylrea will serve as president elect next year to Jay O'Connor, CIPR president for 2010.

Mylrea has been a board member for the last two years and is a currently chair of the Education and Professional Standards committee with responsibility for the implementation of education and training policies.  

‘I am extremely grateful for the support from members and proud to be elected. It's time to get to work,' said Mylrea. ‘I promised to listen to members and that is what will drive me in the coming months to build a strong future for the CIPR.'

Have you registered with us yet?

Register now to enjoy more articles and free email bulletins

Already registered?
Sign in

Recommended for you

Recommended for you

Explore further