CIPR awards ceremony recognises excellence

Norfolk Council wiped the floor at this year’s CIPR Local Government Group awards, clinching five gongs, including the coveted Communicator of the Year award.

Hill (left) and Jones (right): opportunity to develop

The council also scooped Best Consultation Campaign, PR on a Shoestring and Best Use of E-Media, and Best Campaign.

Its ‘Don’t Be a Loser’ campaign successfully reduced road fatalities among 17- to 25-year-olds.

The judging panel, which included Dr Danny Moss, principal lecturer at Manchester Metropolitan University, said the campaign resulted in ‘financial reward for the council, as well as greater road safety’.

Two Young Communicator awards were dished out – to Kara Hill, communications and media manager at Cambridgeshire County Council and Andrea Jones public relations officer at South Wales Police Authority (pictured above with one of the judges, Professor Anne Gregory of Leeds Metropolitan University).

Kara Hill said: ‘I’m grateful for having so many opportunities to develop.’

The London Borough of Richmond upon Thames won the Best Media Relations awards for its ‘Parking Charges based on CO2 emissions’ campaign.

The London Borough of Hillingdon won Best use of Design or Photography for its ‘School Governor’ campaign. Hackney Council won the Best Leaflet for its ‘Join The Street Leaders’.

Camden won the award for Best Civic Newspaper or Magazine with 60,000 and over circulation, while Bracknell Forest won the under 60,000 category.

Stockport Council won Best Publication, and Falkirk won the Communications Partnerships award.

Best A to Z was handed to Nottingham City Council. Bedfordshire Council won the Best Internal Comms award.

Have you registered with us yet?

Register now to enjoy more articles and free email bulletins

Already registered?
Sign in

Recommended for you

Recommended for you

Explore further