Hit or miss... Sticky situation
Mars UK learned an important lesson last week - don't mess with vegetarians. The confectionery firm decided to change the recipe of its sweet snacks to include rennet, only to subsequently realise that as the enzyme was found in calves' stomachs, so no vegetarian would be able to eat its products. Cue 6,000 complaints, national newspaper publicity, and a u-turn by Mars. But despite Monday's full-page ads containing a grovelling apology, Mars has now earned a reputation for acting first and consulting consumers later.
Have you registered with us yet?
Register now to enjoy more articles and free email bulletins