PRWEEK AWARDS: Rising to the challenge

There can be no doubt that this past year has been one of the toughest anyone can remember for our industry. Budgets have been cut, projects put on hold and most 'discretionary' expenditure has disappeared.

The need to maintain public confidence and to present a positive face has, however, never been greater. Our PRWeek Awards winners show just how wonderfully the industry has risen to these challenges.

I have been massively energised to read the submissions of all those who have undoubtedly made a difference this year. They truly demonstrate that the best public relations campaigns add substantial value to any marketing or communications activity.

High-quality creative thinking and measurable success have been in evidence across the categories. My fellow judges and I were fascinated by the sheer variety of tasks undertaken and the solutions provided. We welcomed the fact that entries came from the biggest and the smallest, the newest and the most established, PR agencies and in-house staff.

We congratulate all the winners and for those who weren't successful - there's always next year.


Charles Anson Director,

Cubitt Consulting PR

Alan Biggar



Colin Byrne

Joint CEO UK & Ireland, Weber Shandwick Worldwide

Scott Clark

Managing Director, Fleishman-Hillard UK

Charles Cook

Chairman, Grandfield

Jackie Cooper

Founding Partner, Jackie Cooper PR

Tony Davis

Managing Director, bmi baby

Colin Douglas

Director of Communications, Audit Commission

Dick Fedorcio

Director of Public Affairs, Metropolitan Police Service

Gloria Gibbons

Chief Executive, Shire Health Group

Antony Good

Chairman, Flagship Group

John Grounds

Director of Communications, NSPCC

Will Harris

Vice-President of Marketing, mmO2

Laura Hastings

Managing Director, Lansons Communications

James Herring

Managing Director, Taylor Herring Communications

Julia Hobsbawm

Founder & Chief Executive, HMC - Hobsbawm Media + Marketing


Dr Steve John (First Round)

Managing Director, DLA Upstream

Mark Johnson

Associate Editor - Features,


Bill Jones

Consultant Chairman,

Lexis PR

Tim Clement-Jones (Second Round)

Chairman, DLA Upstream

Frank Kane

Business Editor,

The Observer

Nicole Lander

Head of Communications, Woolworths Group

Andrew Laurence

Deputy Chairman, Hill & Knowlton UK

Blake Lee-Harwood

Media Director, Greenpeace

Richard Ley

Head of Media Relations, ABPI

Andrew Millward

Assistant Director, External Relations, Department of Health

Kate Nicholas



Bill Quirke

Managing Director, Synopsis Alix Robson

Manager Director, Aurelia PR Peter Rodgers

Head of Public Relations, Bank of England

Jan Shawe

Director of Corporate Relations, J Sainsbury

Jonathan Shore

Managing Director, Cohn & Wolfe

Jonathan Simnett

Vice-Chairman, Brodeur Worldwide

Martin Sixsmith

Journalist and former Communications Director for Stephen Byers

Philip Smith

Editor, Revolution

John Stonborough

Media Adviser,

House of Commons Commission

Simon Walker

Communications Secretary, Buckingham Palace

Miles Webber

Head of Public Affairs, Merrill Lynch & Co.

Carl Welham

Head of PR, Sheffield Council

Adrian Wheeler


Jacquie Wilson

Head of Consumer PR, Camelot Group

Michael Wilson

Business Editor, Sky News BSkyB

Have you registered with us yet?

Register now to enjoy more articles and free email bulletins

Already registered?
Sign in