Three candidates named for the IPR presidency 2004

The IPR this week announced that three candidates are to contest the 2004 presidency of the organisation.

Consultant Stephen Jolly - who narrowly lost out to next year's president John Aspery last year - is to stand for election again.

He is competing against independent consultant Ardi Kolah and Leeds Metropolitan University Centre for Public Relations Studies director Anne Gregory. All three candidates are IPR fellows.

Jolly, who lost by 584 votes to 513 last year, said: 'In the past year I have learned the value of unity. I have built a consensus this year.' He hopes to be elected on a modernisation and 'inclusivity' ticket.

The successful candidate will be president-elect next year working alongside Aspery, who will succeed current president Jon Aarons on 1 January.

Voting papers and candidate statements have been sent out to the IPR's 4,300 voting members. The deadline for return of ballot papers is noon on 14 October and the winner will be revealed on 22 October.

Leader, p8.

Have you registered with us yet?

Register now to enjoy more articles and free email bulletins

Already registered?
Sign in