PR Council names Edelman global COO Matt Harrington as chair

Harrington has been on the board since 2013.

Matt Harrington

NEW YORK: The PR Council has elected its new board of directors, with Matthew Harrington, Edelman’s global COO, as chair.

JPA Health Communications principal Carrie Jones was elected secretary, and O’Malley Hansen Communications principal Todd Hansen was named treasurer. The changes are effective December 1, according to a release.

Harrington replaces Christopher Graves, global chairman of Ogilvy PR, who served as chair since 2014. Prior to Graves, then-FleishmanHillard CEO Dave Senay served as chair. The PR Council is headed by Renee Wilson.

Harrington was first elected to the board in 2013. He was promoted to Edelman global COO in 2012 from U.S. CEO and he’s been with the agency for more than 30 years. Edelman only rejoined the PR Council in 2011.

Newly elected board members include Gail Heimann, president of Weber Shandwick; Barri Rafferty, president of Ketchum; Dale Bornstein, CEO of M Booth; Jon Silvan, CEO of Global Strategy Group; and Anne Green, CEO of CooperKatz & Company.

Following the CEO restructuring at Golin earlier this year, co-CEO Matt Neale will be joining the board as the new representative from Golin once current-CEO Fred Cook steps down at the end of this year.

Have you registered with us yet?

Register now to enjoy more articles and free email bulletins

Already registered?
Sign in

Recommended for you

Recommended for you

Explore further