2016 Diversity Distinction in PR Awards now open for nominations

The sixth annual awards program, presented by the PR Council in association with PRWeek, is now accepting entries

For the sixth consecutive year, the PR Council, in association with PRWeek, is presenting the Diversity Distinction in PR Awards. Since 2011, these awards have honored excellence in promoting ethnic diversity within the PR sector at all levels. Entries are now being accepted.

"Within the communications industry, we know we need to do a better job of recruiting, retaining, and promoting diverse talent, and we are working toward that," said PR Council president Renee Wilson. "When there is more diversity among teams, there is more diversity of thought and better ideation. These awards are our way of rewarding and recognizing those who make a difference. We are proud to partner with PRWeek for the sixth annual Diversity Distinction in PR Awards."

The foundation of this program is to recognize achievements by organizations of all types and sizes. To that end, this year’s categories include Best PR Firm Diversity Initiative (divided into two groups: agencies with $100 million or more in annual revenue and those with less than $100 million in annual revenue); Diversity Champion (one group each for agency and in-house professionals); Best In-House Diversity Initiative; and Best New Diversity Initiative, a category returning this year after debuting in 2015.

"The submissions we receive every year tell the tale of an industry that is taking this issue very seriously – as it must," said Gideon Fidelzeid, managing editor of PRWeek. "We are honored to join the PR Council in this effort to raise awareness, spur action, and place a well-deserved spotlight on those who are not only facilitating change within their organizations, but also inspiring others to follow suit."

Previous honorees include the American Cancer Society, APCO Worldwide, Bank of America, the BrandLab, Borshoff, Burson-Marsteller, ColorComm, Edelman, G&S Business Communications, the Lagrant Foundation, Mitchell, Porter Novelli, Spong, the Taylor Bennett Foundation, Weber Shandwick, Wells Fargo, and Widmeyer Communications.

For the first time this year, honorable mentions will be awarded, offering tangible recognition to worthy entities beyond the category winners. In addition, the entire submission process is online this year, making entry more seamless.

Deadline for submissions is Tuesday, July 19, at 6 pm est. An esteemed panel will judge the entries on August 25 at PRWeek’s offices in New York. Winners will be honored at the PR Council’s annual dinner on Wednesday, September 21, in New York.

Click here for details and to enter for the Diversity Distinction in PR Awards.

Have you registered with us yet?

Register now to enjoy more articles and free email bulletins

Already registered?
Sign in