Women tipped for top Cabinet jobs as Gove, Hague and Clarke move on

David Cameron has made wide-ranging changes to his Cabinet ten months before the next general election, with more women tipped for senior positions in Government.

The most high-profile resignations in Cameron’s reshuffle are those of William Hague as Foreign Secretary, Michael Gove as Education Secretary and Ken Clarke as minister without portfolio.

Hague, a former leader of the Conservatives, said last night he would step down as an MP at the next election but would remain in the Cabinet until then in the political role of leader of the Commons.

Gove meanwhile has been appointed as chief whip in the House of Commons, responsible for party discipline, while Clarke will return to the backbenches.

Other changes at senior level include the resignations of Owen Patterson as Environment Secretary, Nick Hurd as minister for civil society and Alan Duncan as international development minister.

Welsh Secretary David Jones, chief whip Sir George Young and universities minister David Willetts have all lost their jobs, as have Damian Green, the policing minister, and the Foreign Office minister Hugh Robertson.

The Attorney General, Dominic Grieve, is also thought to be leaving his role, but that has not yet been confirmed.

Among the most high-profile posts to be confirmed so far are former Treasury minister Nicky Morgan, who has been appointed Education Secretary, and Elizabeth Truss, who is expected to become the next Environment Secretary.

Phillip Hammond has been promoted to Foreign Secretary and the business minister Michael Fallon has been appointed Defence Secretary.

Other women tipped for promotion in the reshuffle include the work and pensions minister Esther McVey and the whips Claire Perry and Amber Rudd.

Penny Mordaunt, Pritti Patel and Margot James are also expected to receive promotions to junior ministerial roles, along with Harriett Baldwin.

Stephen Crabb has been confirmed as Welsh Secretary and Greg Clark is thought to have been appointed minister for science and universities.

Have you registered with us yet?

Register now to enjoy more articles and free email bulletins

Already registered?
Sign in