Council of PR Firms picks new board

NEW YORK: The Council of PR Firms has named its new directors and

officers: a team of CEOs, many of whom come from small independent

agencies, countering criticism that the council is big-firm-biased.

John Graham, Fleishman-Hillard chairman and CEO, will be the Council

board's new chairman. He is joined on the Council's new team of officers

by Rich Jernstedt, Golin/Harris International CEO; Helen Vollmer, CEO of

Vollmer PR; and Horn Group CEO Sabrina Horn.

The new directors joining the board are all CEOs of mid-size or boutique

shops: Cathy Dunkin, The Standing Partnership; Joe Epley, Epley

Associates; Sandy Harbrecht, Paul Werth Associates; Gwin Johnston,

Johnston Wells; Leif Noren, Creative Response Concepts; Claudia

Gaines-Patton, The Headline Group; and Ron Rogers, Rogers &


"Of 18 members of the board, 11 are independents, as are two of the four

officers," said outgoing president, Jack Bergen. "Governance is

effectively in the hands of the independents."

The top nine firms pay $50,000 each to the council, making up 40%

of its income, while mid-size firms pay another 51% of income, and 44

small firms pay the minimum $2,500.

"The big firms should be praised for taking responsibility for the

profession," said Applied Communications CEO, Alan Kelly. "When we

joined, we were a small agency, frustrated with the options available to

us. The council has done more for the PR consulting business in the last

three years than anything else in my career, and it embraces a

remarkable range of firms. I don't buy the idea it's exclusive, but some

have a political interest in exacerbating a divide."

Have you registered with us yet?

Register now to enjoy more articles and free email bulletins

Already registered?
Sign in