PRCA elects fresh intake of PR Council members

Porter Novelli's Sally Ward, Nelson Bostock's Lee Nugent and Octopus Group's Sandy Purewal are among 20 new faces on the PRCA PR Council for 2013/14.

Porter Novelli senior partner and EMEA president Sally Ward: Joining the PRCA's PR Council
Porter Novelli senior partner and EMEA president Sally Ward: Joining the PRCA's PR Council

Thirty of the 53 candidates have been voted onto the council, which was established in 2010 and charged with discussing issues in PR and informing the future of the PRCA.

The ten people who remain on the council from last year include APCO Worldwide's James Acheson-Gray, Lanson's Tony Langham and Sport England's Tanya Joseph.

Among those who have made way are MSL London chief executive Kelly Walsh, The Red Consultancy chief executive Mike Morgan and Hanover director Gavin Megaw.

Although the number of candidates was down from 72 last year, PRCA director-general Francis Ingham pointed to "record numbers" of members engaging with the annual election, with more than 900 voting compared with around 350 last year.

He added: "The quality of the new council speaks for itself – senior industry leaders with a pedigree of great communications. I’m sure they will continue the great work we saw from last year’s council, which drove initiatives such as the ‘Future of PR’ project. I would like to congratulate the newly elected council and I’m looking forward to working with it."

The 2013/2014 elected members of the PR Council are (new members highlighted in bold):

James Acheson-Gray, MD, APCO Worldwide

Penny Anderson, account director, Precise

Mark Barber, director, Weber Shandwick

Jamie Brookes, international head of marketing and corporate affairs, BNY Mellon

Brendon Craigie, CEO, Hotwire PR

Michael Darragh, managing partner, Digital and Content, Ogilvy PR

Helen Dickinson, consultant, Kreab Gavin Anderson

Cameron Grant, director, 3x1 Public Relations

Phil Hall, chairman, PHA Media

David Hamilton, head of PR and Engagement, Action for Children

Rhodri Harries, MD, Kaizo PR

Sam Holl, client service director, Kindred

Tanya Hughes, MD, Talk PR

Tanya Joseph, director, Sport England

Nigel Kennedy, chairman, Commucan

Ardi Kolah, interim director of marketing and communication, Scout Association

Howard Kosky, chairman, Markettiers4dc

Tony Langham, founder and CEO, Lansons Communications

Chris McLaughlin, vice-president, external affairs and marketing communications, Inmarsat

Blair Metcalfe, account director, Ogilvy PR

Robert Minton-Taylor, senior lecturer, Leeds Business School

Dominick Moxon-Tritsch, director of government relations, International Fur Trade Federation

Lee Nugent, CEO, Nelson Bostock Group

Laura Oliphant, MD, Stand Agency

Eleanor Orebi Gann, head of technology and business PR, Visa Europe

Laura Petty, director, Grayling

Sandy Purewal, CEO, Octopus Group

James Thomlinson, MD, Bell Pottinger Wired

Sally Ward, senior partner and president, EMEA, Porter Novelli

Zoe Ward-Waring, MD, Publicasity

Have you registered with us yet?

Register now to enjoy more articles and free email bulletins

Already registered?
Sign in