Pinch Point Communications' Sarah Pinch in line for CIPR presidency

Pinch Point Communications founder Sarah Pinch is in line for the CIPR presidency after the industry body announced she is the only person nominated for the position.

Nominated: Sarah Pinch standing as CIPR president elect
Nominated: Sarah Pinch standing as CIPR president elect

The CIPR has released its list of nominees for its latest round of elections, with Pinch running for the president-elect role unopposed.

She is set to step into the role on 1 January, as current president elect Stephen Waddington moves into the year-long role of president, replacing Sue Wolstenholme.

Independent PR consultant Dave Sanders is running for the treasurer role unopposed.

In total 15 nominations were received for seven seats on the council.

The successful candidates will serve a three-year term which commences on 1 January, with the ballot open from 15-29 October.

Following a 48-hour period when people can raise complaints, the candidates for president-elect and treasurer will be confirmed in office at the same time as the results of the council election, at the start of November.

CIPR president Sue Wolstenholme said: "15 candidates putting themselves forward for the CIPR council is terrific. It shows more members want to be involved in our governance. Members have a superb range to chose from and there will be a positive debate about the institute and the future of public relations."

Earlier this month, the CIPR defended itself against accusations it is unresponsive to the needs of members after Uber Engagement managing director Sean Trainor left the CIPR abruptly following a disagreement over reforming its structure.

The full details of the nominees can be found at:

Have you registered with us yet?

Register now to enjoy more articles and free email bulletins

Already registered?
Sign in