Miti Ampoma and Lionel Zetter on CIPR presidency shortlist

Miti Ampoma and Lionel Zetter have emerged as the two frontrunners for the CIPR 2014 presidency.

Zetter and Ampoma: candidates for CIPR presidency

Both were picked as frontrunners having been nominated by fellow CIPR members.

During 2013 the successful candidate will serve a year as president-elect to Sue Wolstenholme FCIPR, who takes over from current president Sally Sykes FCIPR at the start of next year.

Miti Ampoma is an independent communications specialist with experience in the private and public sector.

She is also leader of the Richmond Chamber of Commerce Business Communication Forum and a Public Relations mentor for the Borough of Richmond-Upon-Thames.

Among her pledges made on the CIPR website, Ampoma vows to  ‘attract a new, wider and diverse audience’ and ‘build on the development of governance and professionalism’.

Lionel Zetter is a senior counsel at APCO Worldwide, a vice president of Public Affairs Asia, and a director of the Enterprise Forum. Zetter is also a past president of the CIPR.

In his statement, Zetter says that the CIPR needs ‘to join forces with another body which also represents the communications industry.’

CIPR CEO, Jane Wilson said: ‘With a choice between two strong candidates and a healthy debate about the issues, this election gives CIPR members the opportunity to influence the kind of leadership they think the profession should have over the next two to three years.’

Canvassing starts and online voting opens on Monday 8 October, with voting instructions also emailed and paper ballots dispatched.

 Voting closes on Wednesday 24 October and results will be published on the CIPR website on Friday 26 October or Monday 29 October.

Have you registered with us yet?

Register now to enjoy more articles and free email bulletins

Already registered?
Sign in

Recommended for you

Recommended for you

Explore further