Sue Wolstenholme voted CIPR president elect following three-way election

Ashley PR MD Sue Wolstenholme has been voted CIPR president elect, and will take the presidency in 2013.

Sue Wolstenholme: CIPR president elect
Sue Wolstenholme: CIPR president elect

Following a three-way election, Wolstenholme polled 38% of the vote against Staniforth’s Rob Brown and Lionel Zetter of Zetter’s Political Services.

Wolstenholme will serve on the CIPR Executive Board in 2012 as president elect alongside next year’s president Sally Sykes. Wolstenholme's agency is based in Cornwall.

Wolstenholme said: ‘The election was great for putting me in touch with so many good friends and finding lots of fine new fellow travellers. I want to thank them for voting for me and Rob and Lionel for the good natured and stimulating debate.

‘Improving professional development opportunities has been one of my key commitments with the CIPR in recent years. I feel the institute’s renewed focus on this area will enable me to make a further contribution and to ensure the CIPR continues to provide outstanding support for professionals at any stage in their careers.’

CIPR CEO Jane Wilson said: ‘That the members of the CIPR had the choice between three excellent candidates shows the level of commitment that exists within the institute and points to a very bright few years ahead.

‘As the institute modernises to focus more on the individual professional development of our practitioners, I look forward to working with Sue, who has done so much for the institute in the fields of professional education and who has been so instrumental in the development of the Chartered PR Practitioner programme.’

CIPR Members also voted on seven seats on the institute’s council. 

Have you registered with us yet?

Register now to enjoy more articles and free email bulletins

Already registered?
Sign in