2 minutes with: John Casey, deputy head of news, CNBC Europe

CNBC Europe has launched business news programme Worldwide Exchange. What makes it stand out?

It is broadcast simultaneously across the world and is the first CNBC programme to be produced jointly by three regional channels.

Please explain how it works
There are three anchors – in London, Singapore and New York – all of whom speak English and broadcast globally. It airs live from 4am to 6am EST on CNBC in the US, 9am to 11am GMT on CNBC Europe, and 5pm to 7pm Singapore Standard Time on CNBC Asia. For businesses operating on a global scale, whose money moves across borders, it is extremely useful.

What's in the programme?
There are interviews with CEOs
and regular reports from financial centres. In the Currency Corner segment we take an issue – the release of the Bank of England's minutes, for example – and discuss the implications for other currencies.

Who is watching?
In the US it might be CEOs on the treadmill at the gym before they start the day. In the UK it could be traders at their desks in Canary Wharf. In Asia it will be high net worth individuals who have left the office, looking for international opportunities.

How can PROs help?
Often they set up interviews with CEOs and other high-level guests. The programme is a useful platform for CEOs to talk to stakeholders, but we are very picky about guests – they must have a global brand portfolio and a global story to tell – emerging markets and cross-continental issues are particularly interesting.

How far ahead do you work?
It's news driven so can be difficult to plan further in advance. But if we know a big story is coming up, we can work ahead, so it's worth getting in touch a couple of weeks in advance.

Have you registered with us yet?

Register now to enjoy more articles and free email bulletins

Register
Already registered?
Sign in

Would you like to post a comment?

Please Sign in or register.