CIPR amends president election rules following Lionel Zetter issue

The CIPR has re-evaluated how it chooses its president after having to scrap last year's elections.

Changes: Jane Wilson
Changes: Jane Wilson

Any voting member of the trade body will now be able to run for the role if they are nominated by ten CIPR members.

The move follows Lionel Zetter stepping down as president elect in November, having beaten Miti Ampoma to the post.

His dramatic departure came after it emerged his nomination had been accepted despite being submitted after the CIPR’s deadline.

Previously, potential candidates needed to have been on the CIPR council or board for at least three years and be nominated by one other person.

CIPR CEO Jane Wilson called the reforms ‘a fundamental change’ and said a new president would be elected by mid-June.

‘We hope it gets people more involved in the life of the institution while encouraging people from a more diverse background to run for president.’

Other reforms include changes to the complaints procedure and allowing candidates to canvass as soon as their nomination has been processed by the CIPR.

Before commenting please read our rules for commenting on articles.

If you see a comment you find offensive, you can flag it as inappropriate. In the top right-hand corner of an individual comment, you will see 'flag as inappropriate'. Clicking this prompts us to review the comment. For further information see our rules for commenting on articles.

comments powered by Disqus

Latest Articles

Labour "fooling themselves" over plans to combat attacks on Miliband

Labour "fooling themselves" over plans to combat attacks on Miliband

Conservative-leaning public affairs experts have questioned the value of Labour's adoption of US-style campaigning tactics in the wake of the opposition hiring election strategist David Axelrod.

PLMR appoints Professor Tim Morris as non-executive director

The vet who helped establish the British Horseracing Authority's anti-doping and animal welfare programme has joined PLMR as a non-executive director.